Happy Adult Woman


So I found this article on Facebook earlier today about things that women need in order to be happy adults. For the life of me, I can’t find the article again now to link it here so I’ll do my best to describe it. There were nine items on the list including:
– Casserole
– Fresh Flowers
– White Wine
– A Terrarium
– Mason jars
– A man
– An Ottoman
– A lemonade pitcher

It was nicely illustrated in watercolor.

I started to read the article, but it was unclear inn the first few paragraphs whether this list was written in earnest or in irony: were these the actual things that she believed all women needed to be considered adults and to live happily or was this an observation of what magazines were telling women that they needed I order to be adults and happy? I didn’t know. I did know that I personally disagreed with it: it seemed rather twee in it’s assumptions about adult femininity- why was a lemonade pitcher important but not a coffee maker? Why was white wine on the list but not beer? Why casseroles?

And what a baffling statement to make: that female adulthood is predicated on household objects and not lifetime achievements like home ownership or career establishment or marriage or parenthood? Never mind all that, just make sure you have fresh flowers. I think part of the point of the article was that the feeling of adulthood takes a long time to set in these days: you can be adult aged but not feel like a grown up- it’s certainly something I’ve experienced. On the other hand I’m not exactly in a rush- I am happy enough to phase myself out of the youth demographic at the standard rate of sixty minutes per hour.

At any rate, I decided to make my own list of the things that I need to be a happy adult woman:

– Coffee
– Beer (scotch is also acceptable)
– The Curmudgeonly Lion
– A filing cabinet
– A paycheck
– A retirement account
– A good vacuum cleaner

I guess I just have different priorities.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on October 4, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
