Future Present


Indeed.

Indeed.

So it’s October 21, 2015 which means that Marty McFly is around here somewhere in a flying Delorean wondering why his shoes won’t lace up. Cubs haven’t won the World Series, but everybody’s still kinda hopeful that they might. I think other, more dedicated people than myself have made more comprehensive examinations about how “Back To The Future II” got it right, got it wrong, and got back into the headlines even though it is a thirty year old movie (well done). I was only introduced to the “Back To The Future” trilogy about a decade ago, but if you’d asked me then where I would be and what I would be doing in 2015 I’m not sure I would’ve gotten it right.

It’s funny how opaque the future is when looked at from the present. I was recently writing an essay for an application that asked what my goals were for the next five to ten years of my life. I realized that I really didn’t have a good concept of how long five years would be. The past five years went by pretty quick, but also seemed to be extremely dense with life-changes: got married, moved across the country, got through most of grad school, etc. And ten years? Forget about it. No clue.

In ten years I’ll be in my forties.

Dang.

But what will that mean? I barely have a conception of what it means to be in my thirties.

Dang- I’m in my thirties!

Looking around my apartment I find myself wondering if this is what I imagined my thirties would be like. It feels about right. I think I thought I’d be more professional by now- and by “professional” I mean “successful”: actually working in the entertainment industry instead of standing on the brink of graduating school and preparing to dive back in at the bottom of the employment heap again. It’s OK, though, there’s still plenty of “thirties” left to scramble my way back up.

Funny, isn’t it, how the shape of life just sort of happens. You make all these plans and set all these goals and somehow you still find yourself surprised at how things turn out.  I suppose that maybe that is part of the nature of life: if we could just reason out how everything was going to happen then there would be no reason to actually go through with it.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on October 21, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
