Misc


Rattle away

Rattle away

I had to go outside in order to make the phone call: there wasn’t any cell service in the lobby of the building and it was too loud to hear anything anyway. But I didn’t know the phone number so I had to look it up. The website wouldn’t load outside because the phone couldn’t find the wireless signal. So I had to go inside in order to look up the number. Then I had to go back outside to call it.

On my way back inside, I reached for the door handle and the ring that I wear on my forefinger went flying off of my hand to jingle on the pavement four feet away. Evidently, this new, cooler weather makes my fingers shrink: I’ve never had a ring go flying like that before.

Life has been a series of small moments like this lately. Yesterday I didn’t even get to sit down and write anything: by the time I got home I was just too tired to do one more thing. It was a good kind of busy: thanks to the professor of my advanced producing class I got to visit the American Film Market and make it onto the upper floors where the real business happens. I’ve only ever made it as far as the lobby before which was both exciting and frustrating because it was fun to be so close to the action and yet have the real “meat” of it be out of reach. Regretfully, I was only able to spare an hour to be there (I had to be back on campus to assist on a sound class): it would have been wonderful to have had the time for real observation instead of just orientation, but I’ll take what I can get.

As I was walking back to the parking structure after a day of assisting, visiting the film market, class, looking over advanced projects, and recording ADR, I found my mind wandering. The hood of my sweater refused to stay on my head so I was debating the relative merits of sewing a small comb into it to hold it to my hair. By association, this made me think of a costume that I had made for a production of “Macbeth” that involved sewing a hair comb into a veil for Lady Macbeth to wear. This got me wondering whether that had actually been a historically accurate choice for headwear: would a woman of the middle ages worn a veil just pinned to the top of her head? What purpose would that serve? Then again, who was to say that all clothing choices had to be made strictly on the basis of functionality? She was supposed to be a lady of means, so maybe the fact that it served no purpose was the purpose: in the same way that some women of a certain social stratum wear outrageous, long fingernails as proof that they don’t have to work with their hands.

This is the way my mind has been working of late: busy, but rattling with small thoughts.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on November 10, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
