Invisible


I was listening to the radio and a new song by the band Weezer came on called “Thank God For Girls”. Now, I should preface this by saying that I generally like the songs of Weezer, and I find the tune to be pretty catching and b anthemic. I want to give them the benefit of the doubt, but listening to the lyrics I couldn’t fight the feeling that the theme of the song was really: ” girls are a petty awesome prize for guys to get”.

As near as I can tell, the story of the song goes something like this:

Verse 1
There’s a girl you like who works in a bakery packing you treats so you can go out in the woods and be manly and pick fights with one another and then come home and she’ll kiss your boo-boos better and give you a canoli.

Verse 2
God made women as a tasty microwave snack but Adam was too busy whining about losing his rib to try it and started being a brat so God decided that making Adam lonely would mean that he’d have to find a girl, so that God wouldn’t have to deal with him anymore. It worked.

Bridge
Girls are great, girls are strong,  girls have a lot of energy, somehow she doesn’t seem to be doing anything with these qualities.

In essence: women are the prize, not the player In this game called life. Thinking on this further I tried to speculate about how many things exist In this world because a man was trying to impress a woman enough to “win” her. And if he won her then they got married and had a baby, which was her prize. Because all women want babies, right?

And how often did women do great things to impress men? I tried to think of good examples but came up empty. I mean, I was trying to do great things, but not specifically to impress men. I just wanted to do great things with my life, and didn’t really feel very drawn to the business of motherhood. Was I really an exception to the rule?

And then I realized: yes, I was. In the system of the world as it exists right now, today, I have no place in the structure. I, as a woman, exist like a ghost in the machine: my existence might inspire it to take shape in a certain way, but my participation in its construction is not expected.

Ouch. That was an eye opener. It’s really something when you realize that you exist in a social structure that ignores your very existence. It’s like discovering that you are actually invisible unless you are able to convince people to see you- and that you only stay visible for as long as they keep their eyes on you. The thing is, you don’t know that you’re invisible- you think you’re just like everybody else in a world where everybody wants the same things and does the same things to get them.

It’s possible that I’m over thinking this. At the same time, I can’t help but think that a lot of people aren’t thinking about this at all- that to most people this is just a catchy song on the radio.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on November 23, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
