Noodle Soup


image

It has been a long time since I’ve had much opportunity to cook. Partly this is because my criteria for meal planning tends to fall prey to criteria such as: can it be eaten cold/one-handed/standing up/in under ten minutes/without silverware? Can it easily be packed in under twenty minutes at six in the morning? Does it absolutely have to be refrigerated?

Then there is the fact that the Curmudgeonly Lion is, himself a pretty darn good cook and takes care of the lion’s share ( pun not intended, but delightful) of meal preparation in the household.

So I’m feeling pretty proud of myself for turning the Thanksgiving turkey carcass into turkey noodle soup. Making soup stock from bones is one of those eminently useful skills that no one teaches anymore, so I’m glad to have a mother who put a priority on teaching it to me… Even if I am so out of practice that I had to call home for a refresher. I may never be a paragon of domesticity, but I can at least make chicken turkey noodle soup.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on November 28, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
