No Rest For The Wicked


Sometime during the night I was awoken by the incessant scratching of the cats insisting on being fed. It was an unusual time for them to want food: I’d put down about half a can before going to bed which should have been plenty for them to make it until morning. No, their scratching insisted, they were starving to death. They needed to be fed again- Right Now.

So I got out of bed and slapped down the other half of the can of cat food and stomped resentfully back to bed, figuring that I only  had another ten or twenty minutes until the alarm went off anyway. I didn’t check the clock. Minutes bled into hours- or, what felt like hours anyway. It was clearly earlier than I’d initially thought.

Now that I was awake my brain went into gear and refused to power down again. I did my best to lie still and think soothing, boring thoughts, but it did no good. I was Awake. I debated the merits of getting up and working on stuff for a while: there certainly doesn’t seem to be enough waking hours in which to do everything,  but I didn’t want to disturb the Curmudgeonly Lion who was fighting off the flu and needed all the sleep that he could get.

I did eventually fall asleep, but it was dissatisfying and short. The first two days of this week were fourteen hour days: productive days, but long. Today was shaping up to be the same: I was going to have to be on campus at 9:00AM and my final obligation wasn’t going to end until 10:00PM. On the bright side, there seemed to be a gap of about six hours during the afternoon: enough time to go home for a while. Then I realized, with that terrible, sinking sensation, that the gap on the calendar was a mistake. A meeting that I’d added several weeks ago had somehow gotten deleted and it was only luck that I happened to remember it before I hit the road. The meeting was smack dab in the middle of the gap so it didn’t make sense to hike all the way to the car just to spend all of my free time driving. I wanted to cry.

Anyway, the meeting went fine. The rest of the day was fine. It was long and busy, but not unmanageable- I was just being a whiner. Tomorrow will be differently busy: I won’t have to get out the door at the crack of dawn but I will need to use the morning to complete a final project that I had planned to take care of today. I have an interview for an internship mid afternoon that I have carefully spaced in my calendar to have several hours before and after it that are not scheduled with any other obligations just in case traffic is bad or the interview runs long. And then there’s my evening class in which the final project is due and I need enough time to print it and get it ready to turn in.

No rest for the wicked, I suppose, by which reasoning I must be very wicked indeed.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on December 2, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
