Kingdom for Quiet


Hush now. Seriously.

Hush now. Seriously.

It’s the last week of the semester. That means Mix Week. So for the past few days I’ve been DEEP in the world of sound and today was no exception. Now, all I want is quiet. I thought that I’d found it in the graduate student lounge; a rare enough occurrence to begin with, so it should have come as no surprise that it didn’t last. When a production meeting moved in I packed up and moved out in search of quieter spaces. The usual nooks and crannies were already occupied and the balconies, usually reliable for being quiet, are equally reliable for having no wi-fi signal.

I set up shop in another, open lounge. Around the corner I could hear a group of people conversing but I didn’t know who or what about. No sooner had I settled in than a student and a teaching assistant arrived to have a loud conversation about returning a paper. Half of me was tempted to move again. Half of me was tempted to wait and see whether they went away. Waiting required no effort. They did eventually go away.

I’m not in a huge rush to leave graduate school. I mean, I’m not exactly chuffed about continuing to accrue student debt, but if I can soak up one more semester of comfort and privilege before clawing away at the real world for a living then I’m going to seize that opportunity while I can- I’m no fool. On the other hand, I won’t miss this business of having no private workspace. It will be nice to work on a desk again. It will be nice to not have to share a computer with a hundreds of coughing, sneezing, loudmouthed filmmakers. I mean, I know that this is a collaborative art form, but sometimes it’s nice to just be alone in the quiet.

This is something I complain about a lot. Right now it is on my mind because I have a pounding headache and no headphones to block out the noise. I started the day at 8:30 and I have an evening class (my last one of the semester) until 10:00PM and I have work that I’m supposed to be doing except that my brain pretty well shut off about half an hour ago. Le Sigh.

One more day, and then the weekend. One more day.

 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on December 10, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
