Christmas Eve


For a while now, I’ve been meaning to re-watch the movie “Home Alone” for the sake of nostalgia. I was just the right age for it when it came out, which is to say that I was the same age as Kevin McAllister. It takes place and was shot in the Chicago suburbs, so it was an environment that I can say is pretty close to home for me.

The set dressing looks pretty dated, and the story would never hold up in this day and age of high security airports and cellphones/internet, but the story of a kid learning independence while simultaneously learning to value his family is still pretty strong. And danged if that church scene between Kevin and Mr Murphy didn’t get me right in the feels.

I’ve spent a lot of time this holiday season struggling to get into the spirit of Christmas. We have all the accoutrements of celebration and yet there is a certain lack of electricity in the air and I miss it. It’s no easy thing to be a grown up at the holidays. If I were to write a Christmas movie of my own then I would have to write myself in as the Bah Humbug grown up who doesn’t see what all the fuss is about. Alas. Hopefully I am written into a comedy and through many hijinks and adventures I learn to find meaning in Christmas again. Maybe Santa even makes an appearance.

Speaking of which, it’s late and I ought to get to bed so Santa can go about his business… You know he can’t stop until everybody’s asleep. I mean, I don’t expect him to stop by but there’s a kid that lives upstairs that is probably waiting on him. 🙂

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on December 25, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
