Twelfth on the Sixth


I'd complain but I'm actually really enjoying the rain.

I’d complain but I’m actually really enjoying the rain.

Today is the Twelfth day of Christmas, which means that tomorrow I can take down the Christmas decorations. Only I wont, because tomorrow will be my first day at my internship for the semester. I’m mostly looking forward to it, but it definitely feels like the night before the first day of school: I’ve finally settled into a sort of routine for this vacation business and now I have to start all over again.

The nerves manifest themselves in different ways. Today it was a repeated need to lie down. It rained for nearly the whole day for a second day in a row which just made napping all that much more appealing. (The cats agreed). In spite of this, I did manage to get out of the apartment for a while. I met up with a composer that I’ll be working with down the line on a project that I’m sound designing. I made it to Staples to turn on a back log of old ink cartridges for recycling. I went to the bank to close a production account. I did a bit of reading and a listening assignment.

The mail came, along with a pair of boots that the Curmudgeonly Lion got for me for Christmas. (Actually he gave me a “gift certificate” to go shopping for boots since he didn’t want to pick out a pair without me having a chance to try them on, but the store didn’t have any in black so we had to order them.) I put them on almost the minute that they landed on my doorstep and haven’t taken them off yet. What a perfect day to get new boots!

At any rate, I’m doing my best to prepare for tomorrow by not thinking too hard about it. I’m sure everything will be fine, but that doesn’t mean I don’t worry. Worrying is my natural habitat.

 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 6, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
