The Apple Tasted Like Church


image

I call this variety "apple surprise"

It was a perfectly ordinary looking apple. A Johnagold, if memory served, on sale at the grocery store for 99 cents per pound. There was no reason why it should have tasted like anything besides an apple.

I was eating my lunch while shuttling between an orientation for Student Assistants and my internship for the semester: classes haven’t even started yet and here I am eating in the car. I selected the apple because it was easy to eat one handed and didn’t require any unwrapping ( except for a quick sticker- inspection: I once failed to check for this and afterwards realized that I’d eaten the apple, sticker and all). I took a bite and was immediately and explicitly sent back to the church that I attended while growing up- specifically, the chapel off to the west side of the sanctuary which has a specific smell of wood and wax and the ghost of incense past. Of all the things for an apple to taste like- especially considering the rocky relationship that apples have with the church. There was no ambiguity about it. It wasn’t just the first bite that tasted a little odd, but the whole chapel flavored fruit. It wasn’t unpleasant, just surprising- no one expects to eat childhood memories with their lunch.

Strange fruit aside, the day progressed productively but uneventfully. The orientation was a familiar routine. The second day at the internship began to settle into a pattern. I didn’t get lost trying to get into the highway home. I finished a library book, which is good because it is due on Tuesday. Now I have a weekend to take down Christmas decorations and prepare myself for the semester and maybe to relax just a little bit.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 8, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
