Brush


In an effort to improve our dental hygiene game, we invested in electric toothbrushes for Christmas. They weren’t Christmas gifts, exactly, they were on sale at Costco after the holiday rush was over so we indulged. I’m definitely a grown up now.

Brushing your teeth with an electric toothbrush is like brushing your teeth with a floor waxer. Sure, it leaves you fresh, but there’s a significant amount of brain vibration that comes along with it. Some days I think I need it too. Lately I’ve been trying everything that I can think of to shake a persistent pressure headache that had set up camp somewhere behind my eyes and is in no hurry to pull up stakes. I’m pretty sure it’s weather related. It goes from the top of my head to my molars with occasional detours by way of my forehead. Misery. I keep thinking that the brushing might help shake it loose, but so far all I’ve ended up with its fresh breath.

I’ve been spending a lot of time trying to distract myself. Editing is always a good way to lose a few hours, so I’ve been working on trimming back my script. On the first round I pulled out a solid nineteen pages. I just took a second pass at the hardcopy in a different color pen and made an effort to be ruthless with myself about what really needed to be a part of the story. I haven’t edited the digital copy yet to know how close I am to my goal of removing sixty pages, but I at least feel confident that I’ve taken a solid step towards it.

At any rate, that’s what’s on my mind for tonight.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 19, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
