Fifty Out


image

It calls to me...

So it took me three rounds of revisions to take fifty pages out of my script. It could really stand to lose another ten ( couldn’t we all?) but I’m discovering that each round of editing delivers a diminished return: the “blue” cut was a solid nineteen pages, the “green” cut was seventeen-ish. The “red” cut only fourteen.

I finally had to stop cutting and call it a draft. I’d trimmed away enough volume to be cutting pretty close to the quick and I’d done all the edits by hand on a single printout- thus the color coding so that I could keep track of which edit happened when. But it turns out, that when you cut out nearly a third of your text that it’s pretty difficult to figure out what’s left. Scenes get combined. Exposition gets moved. What was once a big series of three or four talky dialogue scenes have been condensed into one. What was once a single big scene had now become a sprinkling of vignettes across an entire act…

The bottom line is that I need a new printout before I can tackle any more cutting. And it might be a good time to take a few days to get some distance from it: it has taken up residence on my attention span and become the only thing that I want to think about. This probably means that I’m getting too attached to it and can’t make objective choices about what is good storytelling vs my own writerly edification.

I think it is this tendency to hyper-focus on things like art and writing and directing- as even reading sometimes- it’s what makes me deflect myself from taking a direct path towards the things that I want to do in life. It sometimes feels like I’m avoiding the things that I love the most because I love them like an addict- once I get started on something it’s tempting to do it to the exclusion of all else.

Over the past few years, I think I might have overcorrected for this and gone so far to the extreme other end of the spectrum until I found myself actually avoiding the things I most wanted to do.  So now I need to bring myself back to the middle ground: stop being only an editor. Don’t get me wrong, editing is absolutely essential to good work, but not when it’s to the exclusion of being an artist.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on January 26, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
