Cat Gifts


It was unclear which end of the cat it had come out of.

One, or possibly both, of the cats has/have taken to leaving little excremental gifts for us on the bed. It happened yesterday and It happened today. By Now they’ve gotten both sides of both of the blankets that normally cover the bed, so it’s going to be a cold couple of nights until I have time to wash them again. The blankets, that is, not the cats.

I can only hope that this is a temporary phase: the cats’ way of saying that they’re worried about being left alone for such long hours during the day. It’s getting old really fast. Not the least because it involves extra laundry. I just hope that it’s not actually some sign that one or both of them are sick.

It was a full and busy day today: a full day at my internship, followed by two hours of mixer training followed by two hours of sound editing followed by an after-ten-pm-traffic-delay-of-unknown-origins. I finally gave up and got off the highway to take surface streets the rest of the way. A trip that should have taken thirty minutes took nearly an hour. By the time that I got home to deal with the cat leavings I was pretty well worn out.

And tomorrow is another full day.

I’m working mightily to keep my weekends free for recuperating from the week days and to have time to be at home with the Curmudgeonly Lion. I still feel like I’m seeing precious little of him these days. And I wish that I could say that I’m settling into a routine and the workload is getting easier to carry, but at a time like this- late at night after a long day, near the end of a long week, I can’t help but feel like I’m just about at my limit.

I guess that’s my cue to call it a day and go to bed.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on February 4, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
