My Valentine


I may be bad at Valentines Day but I'm REAL good at warming up your feet.

I may be bad at Valentines Day but I’m REAL good at warming up your feet.

I’ve never been much of a one for Valentines day: a holiday dedicated to the notion of romantic gestures and elaborate displays of affection has always existed slightly beyond my capacity for understanding. Then again, I’ve never been very good at recognizing or understanding romance. Cards? Roses? Candle lit dinners? Why are these the trappings of romance? In my experience, the moments displaying the truest signs of love have been the un-romantic ones. The time he fixed the toilet. The time he brought a case of water to set. The time he moved across the country with me so that I could tilt at the windmill of graduate school.

The Curmudgeonly Lion does not share my flawed instincts for romance: his sense of romance is perfectly intact. Which is lucky for me, but unlucky for him since it means that while he forever surprises me with flowers, chocolates, and jewelry, I in turn give him something made out of macaroni noodles and yarn. Not that he would be very thrilled even if I did get him flowers, chocolates or jewelry… they just don’t seem to be his type of gift.

So it was a wonderful and lopsided Valentines day. I had no expectations of gifts. I had no daydreams of plans. So it was truly a surprise to discover a small gift box on the counter after I emerged from my shower. This, it turned out, contained a necklace with a pendant of a heart-shaped gemstone in it. A beautiful gift: I put it on right away and have been wearing it ever since. But what had I gotten for him? I’m ashamed to admit: nothing. It’s not that I don’t love him- it just didn’t occur to me to get a gift. I guess there is always Sadie Hawkins day.

At any rate, it was a wonderful Valentines day- at least for me. Relaxed. Understated. Comfy. The kind of romantic that doesn’t involve putting on makeup (or pants). If I don’t think to ask him to “be mine” it’s because I already think of him as my valentine- even when it’s not Valentines Day. I can only hope that I can find other ways to show romantic gestures for the other three hundred and sixty four days of the year instead.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on February 14, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
