Clean, Quiet, Awake


Maybe if I lie reeeeeeeeal still...

Hello- it’s three am: are you awake now? Good!

Usually when I find myself awake in the middle of the night there is a song involved. Usually a song that I don’t like much. Then, since I’m awake, my mind goes to all the problems that are bothering me and begins to chew them over without making any progress on them until I’m so wound up that there’s no chance of getting back to sleep again.

This wasn’t the case last night.

Sure, I did wake up after only a few hours and for no apparent reason, and it was several hours before I even began to nod in the direction of sleep, but there was no song stuck in my head and there didn’t seem to be anything on my mind: I just popped wide awake and couldn’t get back to sleep again. It was the kind of clear-headed-wide-awake that you wish you could have while preparing a tax return or when you have a lot of studying to do the night before a test. Woulda been great if I’d been doing either of those things. Turns out it’s a rotten state of mind to find yourself in between three and four forty in the morning staring at the ceiling.

For not having slept much, I would’ve expected to be more tired now in the morning, but I seem to be fine so far. Of  course it may catch up to me: it’s due to be a long day and a late night tonight with classes and prep for sound mix tomorrow, for which I will need to be out the door two hours earlier than usual. Ugh.

At least I can rest assured that by tomorrow night, after these two long days that I have on my schedule,  I’ll be back to sleeping like the dead. That’s something, I suppose.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on February 22, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
