Moon Down to Moon Up


Left the house so far before dawn that the sky in the east had not yet even begun to lighten. I had to be on campus by seven AM and I’d learned the hard was that six AM traffic is not any lighter than seven AM traffic so I got out the door around five thirty to be safe.

I was driving west, towards the setting moon. A full moon. Apparently a ‘Gemini’ moon, although I don’t know what that means. A misty planet seemed to be accompanying it- so bright that I thought it might be a plane on the approach to LAX.

The sun peeked over the horizon about the time that I parked. I thought about taking a picture to make some comment about: “well, at least the payoff for having to get up early is a view of the sunrise”, but the colors never really got very splendid before it got bright.

The morning was spent trotting from mix to mix making sure everything stayed on schedule. I didn’t know it was warm out until I emerged around one for a break before work. At first I planned to find a quiet place to nap, but the weather seemed so pleasant that I decided to sit outside instead; maybe read for a little while. I started reading the screenplay for “Brooklyn” which I’d grabbed on a whim, and once I got started it seemed silly to stop until I had to be somewhere, so I finished it.

By the time I got to work I’d hit the wall. I was so tired I felt like a space cadet. There were things that I probably should have worked on, but I just couldn’t muster up the brain power to focus on them so I tinkered around with some writing until class.

In class I finally had a chance to present my directing process. At last I feel like I can shed the burden of waiting to present. I didn’t get tongue tied. I didn’t get anxious. Hopefully this will help balance out that bad dream.

Now I’m writing away frantically so I can call it a night. I have half an hour of today Left before it’s tomorrow, so that’s all for now.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on February 23, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
