The Spider


image

Just a dream, just a dream, just a dream...

In my dream, the hood over the stove was so big that we used the space as extra storage. There was a spare little cubby hole where I stashed some papers until the Curmudgeonly Lion came home from grocery shopping and wanted to put the tomatoes there to ripen. At that point I decided that it was silly to store papers in the hood over a stove and I reached up underneath to retrieve them, but as I tried to pull them out I dislodged a number of spiders that began crawling over my hand.

I might have *slightly* overreacted.

Yanking my hand back I shook it vigorously trying to dislodge the spiders. Two or three fell off readily. I was able to knock off one or two more by blowing on them. Only one remained. It kept running to the underside of my hand where I couldn’t see it, so no matter which way I turned my hand it was on the bottom. I couldn’t shake it off. I couldn’t blow it off. The harder I tried to get rid of it, the harder it clung until art last it went to the middle of my palm and dug in with all eight feet. It wasn’t quite painful, but it was extremely unpleasant. I didn’t want to hurt the little guy, I just wanted it off my hand.

It occurred to me at last that the spider wasn’t biting me- it was just holding on for dear life. It occurred to me that if I put my hand near the edge of the counter and held very still that it might let go and crawl away on its own. It turns out that this was right: placing my hand beside the edge of the counter I could feel the spider loosen it’s grip. It crawled off my palm and onto the counter and then I woke up.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on February 24, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
