February’s End


image

Teamwork.

Slowly but surely I’m working my way through the screenplays for the Academy Award nominees. By the time the big night rolls around I may not have seen any of the nominees, but at least I’ll have read some of them. Tonight’s selection was “Spotlight”. Earlier in the week it was “Brooklyn”.

I like to think that all this reading might help make me a better writer, and if I can get to be a better writer it will help me to be a better filmmaker. Before that can happen, though, I’m going to need to actually do some writing to practice implementing things that I learn. The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak: I keep promising myself that I’ll sit down and do a bunch of work in the evening and then find myself procrastinating and watching television instead and justifying it by telling myself that it is also ok to relax a little bit on a Friday night.

I can hardly believe that February is nearly over. Monday will be leap day. It was the day that we left Chicago to move west. I’d like to celebrate it but I’m not sure how since I’ll be on campus all day for classes. It seems like an auspicious time to be stepping into a new chapter of my life. A new leap, as it were.

So anyway, I still have a few days left in February to enjoy so I hope to use them wisely.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on February 26, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
