Target Drain


image

Shopping again, eh?

I stopped at Target on the way home from campus to do some birthday shopping for the Curmudgeonly Lion. Back at Christmas I had tons of gift ideas for him, but now they seemed… unexciting. I’d had one stroke of inspiration ( which prompted me to go to Target in the first place) and hoped that a few other ideas would leap off the shelves for me.

Birthday gift shopping without a solid plan is like grocery shopping while hungry: everything seems like an option. It was a solid hour before I made it back out the door- having also picked up milk and a new Britta pitcher. I drove back home and just wilted onto the couch for a nap: Target had drained all my energy.

I suppose I can’t just blame Target: the morning class had run long and backed right up to my afternoon meeting so lunch hadn’t really happened. I knew dinner was scheduled to be early in order to accommodate a series of conference calls about various projects so it didn’t make sense to cook a bunch of food just to ruin my appetite for dinner. It wasn’t like I was going to starve to death in an hour or two.

So progress was made. My energy level seemed to recover after a meal and now I have a few gifts in hand for next week. Hopefully I’ll be able to stay on a more even keel tomorrow.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 9, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
