Coves and Caves


image

Cave of the mighty storyteller

Normally on a Thursday I would be at my internship, but a combination of the fact that it was Spring Break and all the rest of the acquisitions team is out of town at South By Southwest gave me an opportunity to work remotely.

So the day began with a “Trades roundup” in which I read through the major trade magazines looking for news, reviews, and other useful information about what is going on at the SXSW film festival and consolidate it into a single email for the people who are on the ground. It’s not difficult work, just detail oriented and I knew that I wanted to get it done right away.

From there I went to Dreamworks Animation to meet a former classmate for lunch. Walking around the campus on an unofficial tour was enough to convince me that working at Dreamworks Animation might just be like working at Dream-Come-True-Works. I mean, they dyed the fountain green for St Paddys Day! And they have a whole department called “Shadows”. And a koi pond. And water features designed to drown out the highway noise.

So jealous.

From there I went to a meeting with an actress at a coffee shop called The Bourgeoise Pig: a favorite among Bohemian artist types I’m sure. I certainly liked it: dim, cozy and shabby like a rainy day. I managed to find a seat in the back room which is like stepping into Neverland.

Lastly, in the evening we went to a panel discussion called Anatomy of an Episode for the Amazon show Transparent with Jill Soloway, Jeffrey Tambor, and other key members of the production team. It was a Television Academy event and everybody seemed to be a part of the show: other actors, other crew members, etc. The event was held at the “Theatre at the Ace hotel” which was once the United Artists theatre in downtown. The entire interior looks as if it grew there out of a set of caverns: a cathedral of stalactites and stalagmites. Wonderful.

So it was good to keep busy, but I’m hoping for a calmer, quieter day tomorrow.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 17, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
