Nap Attack


I like to think that this is what I look like when I sleep but I'm pretty sure there is a lot more mouth breathing and a lot less edge light.

I like to think that this is what I look like when I sleep but I’m pretty sure there is a lot more mouth breathing and a lot less edge light.

I made the mistake of sitting on a couch.

I had about an hour and a half between the time that I finished supervising recording sessions on the Foley stage before I had to start work at the sound equipment center and it was too cold to sit outside for very long so I retreated to a couch on the second floor of one of the lesser trafficked buildings in the complex. Every door on the floor was closed except for one, from which the relentless voice of an undergrad could be heard. For ninety minutes she recounted her entire personal history without interruption. Some of it quite personal indeed.

In spite of the constant stream-of-consciousness, I reached a point where I just couldn’t keep my eyes open. I had to put my head down for ten minutes. I didn’t think I’d be able to sleep (and I didn’t) but it felt good to just close my eyes and rest. I take this as a good sign: the fact that I was able to relax enough to feel tired means that I’ve gotten out in front of enough of my to-do tasks that I felt able to disengage for a few minutes. The few minutes rest helped the rest of the day feel much more manageable. The five-hour-energy shot might also be helping.

Anyway, so now I’m between work and class and trying to keep the momentum going. I wanted to make an effort to get this post written earlier rather than later: I’ve gotten into the bad habit of doing it on my phone right before bed which isn’t good for me. It isn’t good for my spelling, certainly, considering some of the unexpected word choices selected by my autocorrect. And the blue light of a digital display is supposed to make it difficult for the mind to know that it is time to prepare for sleep, which might account for some of my restlessness of late.

Well, with luck I’ll be back to that restful sleeping-on-the-couch state. This time without narration.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on March 29, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
