Planning


I remembered to pack a lunch but forgot to pack a dinner. Somehow it didn’t occur to me that having obligations until eight o’clock in the evening might require a second meal break. Not that I was worried: I had some snacks and it isn’t like I’m wasting away- I had some padding. But by the time I made it home I’d hit the wall. Hard. I made some pasta feeling too tired to do more than watch the pot boil. My whole body ached.

How did this happen? I was fine all day until I was walking off of campus and I remembered that I had rehearsal tomorrow for my film project. Then suddenly I felt overwhelmed. Nerves, I guess. I’m pretty well prepared and I’m not going to be doing this alone, so there’s no reason to be uneasy about it. I guess it just crept up on me- part of me was ready to let go for the weekend and got a surge of adrenaline right at a vulnerable moment.

The pasta seems to be kicking in now. I feel much more equitable about everything. No more skipping meals while trying to finish the semester- even on accident.

Anyway, it’s been a heckuva week. Tomorrow will be busy but then I should be able to gather my wits on Sunday. For now I’m just going to get a good night’s sleep. I hope. Last night I dreamed that I was cast as Vincent Van Gogh in a biopic being shot in Paris, but I was really there to solve a “Da Vinci Code” style mystery. Colorful and full of intrigue, but not terribly restful. We shall see.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on April 1, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
