Guild Hall


I did the thing that I disdain when other people do it: I missed a class on purpose. It was an opportunity that I just couldn’t pass up: the chance to attend the premiere of AMCs new miniseries The Night Manager at the Director’s Guild. It was a show that the Curmudgeonly Lion had expressed interest in, so when the opportunity for tickets came up I jumped on them: now it wasn’t just about the show, now it was a date.

We sat in the third row. The stars of the show were there, so I’ve now technically been in the same room as Hugh Laurie and Tom Huddleston, albeit from a distance. The show itself was great, although the Curmudgeonly Lion got his first first-hand experience of how different it is to watch a television show on the big screen as compared to a movie. He was struck by how many extreme close ups there were.

My only regret was not having enough time to go home or change before the show: everybody seemed to look so sharp that I felt rather lumpy and shabby wearing only my business casual. There’s nothing like going to a premiere to have all the shine taken off your self esteem, but no matter: I choose to believe that soon it will be my premiere and I can be just as shiny as I goddamn please.

At any rate, I have no regrets.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on April 5, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
