Loadin


Tomorrow is a mix day which meant that today was my day to “load in” the projects on the mix stages. I’ve gotten the process down to under twenty minutes of assembling the tracks and plugins and sends and inserts and so on, and twenty minutes of sorting out what is wrong with the system. Per project. But it’s down under an hour per project now, which is progress from the first time that I tried to do it. Film production seems to breed complex systems: why have one moving part when you can have a hundred? In Imax! 3D! Really, I think that when creative people talk about the importance of “happy accidents” they’re just trying to explain the ongoing entropy of production.

So that kept me busy for the afternoon. Tomorrow will be mixes all day then a session of ADR. Because why not spend the whole day underground? Since I was down there I managed to spend a little time watching the dailies from last weekend’s production- they are so good I could cry: I’m not sure I’ve ever been this proud of a film project that I’ve directed before- I’ve felt good about them, but this one feels like something special. I hope I’m not overselling it. But I can’t wait to have a cut put together so that I can show it off.

On that note, I’m falling asleep as I write this so I’m going to call it a night.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on April 13, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
