Sound Day


Of the fourteen and a half hours that I was on campus today, only three hours were not sound related. Two of those three hours were spent eating, twenty minutes was spent napping and the rest was spent staring into space and absorbing daylight. It was that kind of a day.

It wasn’t a bad day, all in all, although it got off to a rough start. I was tempted to go back to bed and start over after discovering that there was no milk for cereal and no cream cheese for a bagel in the house. I elected to do a bagel with almond butter so old and separated that it consisted of a think layer of oil on top of a dense layer of almond sediment. I turned the jar upside down hoping to mix things a bit only to discover that the lid was not screwed on. Naturally this meant almond oil all over the kitchen floor. And if you thought that peanut butter sticks to the roof of your mouth then you haven’t tried separated almond butter.

On the plus side, I remembered to brush my teeth before leaving the house. It was the only way to uncement my jaws.

The day got better from there- or, at least, less confounding. On some days that amounts to the same thing. I made it through and even stayed late to put in some extra time on sound editing, so I daresay I made an effort. I kinda wish that it wasn’t a Monday, though. Keeping this pace up for the rest of the week is going to be a challenge. And the rest of the week starts in five minutes.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on April 18, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
