Another day spent in the post production lab. For all my good intentions of getting one thing DONE, it just didn’t seem to happen. It turns out that I’m quite slow as a picture editor. Or quite picky. Or completely intimidated by some of the other projects that screened in class last night that were “just rough cuts” that looked like they had been labored over by a team of production and post production jedi with abnormal mitichlorian counts. Meanwhile I feel like I’m cutting with left handed safety scissors.

But it’s coming along, slowly but surely. There is just one scene that still needs to be completed, and three of that scene’s five “beats” ( segments of a scene in which a character is trying to accomplish one specific goal using one specific action) are done. So I’m closing in on it.

You know that you’re reaching the end of a semester when a ten hour day feels like a short day. It’s a good thing that I like this work- how do people survive working this much in a job they don’t like? I guess that is why “work” is associated with such negative feeling. 

No matter how much I’m enjoying it, though, it’s certainly wearing me out. I just made the mistake of closing my eyes for a second while I considered the next thing to say and started to nod off, so that’s my cue to call it a night.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on April 20, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
