Night Work


681246

Haha, j/k. I’m headed back to the lab for another four hours.

I got a book out of the library a few days ago, but I keep forgetting to put it in my bag so that I can read during meal times. In some ways this is a good thing, because the last thing that I need is anything to distract me from everything that needs to be done, but on the other hand it means that I’m just resorting to Facebook, which isn’t any more constructive or less distracting.

I’m in this predicament right now. It’s lunch time and I don’t have anything to read while I eat. So I’m going to try to write instead. It is looking like another late night. I spent the whole day yesterday in the post-production lab working on a picture edit of a project for Advanced Directing. At one point I felt someone kicking my chair and looked up to see my sound professor over my shoulder and became suddenly guiltily aware that I also have a sound editing project that I need to make some serious headway on.

“Is it safe to say that you have too much to do?” He said.

I agreed. Mentally I resolved to only work on sound editing for the rest of the week. We were supposed to screen them on Monday evening. I could put in two solid back-to-back ten hour days on the weekend and at least have a detailed edit done (even if my mixing ended up being rudimentary).

Then I remembered: I really only had one day free on the weekend. Sunday is my sister’s birthday and we’d invited her over for dinner.

Damnit.

I could get, maybe, four hours in on Sunday. I’d still have Saturday, but I was going to need to put in some more work during the week. That meant today or tomorrow. And since Thursdays and Fridays are internship days, that means late nights. Le sigh.

Stupid ProTools. Why are you so hard to install! I could’ve been doing all this work at home!

So I decided that I’d go back in tonight and see how much progress I can make. If I feel like I am in good shape then maybe I’ll take tomorrow night to relax and then put in a solid push on Saturday.

This is what is occupying my mind these days: how much time can I spend down in post-production? (Answer: All the Time). Just gotta stay focused for another few weeks.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on April 21, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
