Final Sprint


By the time that I got home last night I had fifteen minutes before my coach turned into a pumpkin, so I elected not to write. It was my last official class for Advanced Sound and we screened everybody’s final projects which took longer than the strict allotment of hours scheduled for normal class time. I screened first, which was a bit of a relief since it got everything out of the way. Listening to a sound design in a big theatre is very different from listening to it while working down in the post-lab, but I was pleased to discover that it translated pretty well from my intentions.

Now that it’s over, I’m just finally realizing that it’s over. For being my second-to-to-last-class ever in graduate school, it somehow didn’t feel very… climactic. It’s unclear to me whether the class will meet again next week for an “exam”: the final project was the exam, so any meeting would be social. And likely optional, considering how busy everybody is. But then I suppose that’s what you get when your classes don’t have formal exams- there isn’t quite the same release of intensity that you get when you walk away after a big test. Although it is a big relief to not have to split my time between sound editing and picture editing.

So now I’m in picture editing on the short film that I shot for directing class. Which is tonight. Which actually is my last class ever in graduate school. Yikes. I feel like I should be celebrating this somehow. If I’d been smart I would’ve packed one of the leftover cupcakes from Bean’s birthday party as a last-class-ever treat, but… well… I ate it for breakfast instead. Because some days you just need to start the day with a cupcake.

I seem to have gotten back into the swing of picture editing and finally have a rough cut to show for the class. Making the switch from sound editing to picture editing is painful, though because I’m so tuned in to listening to the sound track that it is very hard to measure the visual moments on screen. Little bits of static interference on the lav mic stand out shouts, and I have to resist the temptation to start searching for backgrounds and foley. There will be plenty of time for that when I get it into ProTools! Don’t jump the gun!

But while I’m getting back up to speed at editing, I’m still trailing behind in successfully remembering how to export. I managed to successfully export one copy of the film but clearly I missed a resolution setting and made it too small. So I’m back off down to the post lab to try exporting again. Fingers crossed!

 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on April 26, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
