After two weeks of no running whatsoever, I was both excited and intimidated by the thought of going running today. On the one hand, I’d been covetously saving my evening so that I could go out running but on the other hand I was pretty sure it was going to be a breathless, aching experience.

It actually wasn’t too bad. I got off to a late start, but was able to keep up a solid pace for the first mile or so. It got harder as I went along- I found myself tiring out, but I managed to finish strong. It made a nice climax to a rejuvenating day.

Actually, rejuvenating isn’t quite the right word- I didn’t get younger because of it, but I do feel refreshed: clearer headed, energized for the week. I got to do brunch with some classmates which was a fun visit and a good chance to do something purely social for a change. Then I came home and called my folks and my mentor and then had a nap. The nap was only a partial success: it turns out that napping is a skill that requires practice and I’m very out of practice. So I never quite got to  sleep and I woke up feeling like I’d been hit by a bus, but over all it was nice to have the chance to relax.

And then I capped the day off with a run and with Game of Thrones, so I feel like I had enough time to pull my brain out of production mode to give it a rest. Tomorrow it will be full steam ahead again. But that’s tomorrow.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 1, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
