Not So Smooth Sailing


We went sailing today with my folks for Mother’s Day. I haven’t been sailing since I was a kid and we visited an aunt and uncle who owned a sailboat on Lake Champlain, so I was pretty excited to have the chance to go again.

It was a good day for sailing. The weather turned out to be sunny and warm but still windy enough to make sailing easy if not perfectly smooth. For most of the trip I was fine but in three last hour or so the rocking of the boat started to get to me and I finally had to confess to being a bit nauseated. I did manage to avoid losing my lunch, though.

Now that I’m back at home and in shore I’m realizing how tiring it is to be out in the fresh air all day. Having family in town has been like having an extended weekend so I keep losing track of the days and having to remind myself that tomorrow is Monday and that my folks will be going home on Tuesday. Even though I’ve been spending full days with them it still seems too soon.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 8, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
