image

Big Smiles

I’m still not used to this dentist. I had a dental exam today, but no cleaning ( I’ll have to go back next week). All the x- rays were taken digitally and were posted on a monitor in the exam room so I had ample time to look them over while waiting for the dentist, which I’m also not used to, but found to be very interesting. In some ways it looks exactly like I would have expected and in others it is a complete surprise.

After the dental exam, I met my folks for lunch before they flew home. It was a lovely, low-key end to their visit. Now that I’m wrenching my attention out of hospitality mode I’m discovering that it is only two days until graduation day! It seemed so long ago and now it is mere days away! The great unknown beyond grad school looms ever closer. Ironically I find myself thinking back to when I started the program and how I wondered at the time whether I was choosing the right school or if it would make that much of a difference to me. It’s safe to say that both questions can be answered “yes”. And as much as I lamented having no time or personal life, I sure dove into it wholesale. It is going to take a bit of a makeover to redefine myself for the working world, and once again I’m facing that same feeling of “how do I want to define myself now?” that I had going into the program. I guess if I’ve learned anything, it’s that it might take a year or so to gain traction, but the work won’t be wasted.

Anyway, back to one last full day of sound editing tomorrow, then a day of prep, and then commencement. Counting down!

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 10, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
