Goal Pages


image

Does the crumpled one count?

Damnit! I’m writing on my phone again. So much for that goal of sitting upright to write- so far it has lasted exactly one day. Yesterday.

I’ve been giving some thought to the topic of writing lately. Last night as I was falling asleep I was struck by an inspiration that I should set a new goal to try to write ten pages every day. Now, instead of counting hours, I would count pages. Ten seemed like a nice round number. It also seemed like a difficult number to reach. I’m not actually sure how long it would take me to write ten pages- assuming that I already have the necessary inspiration to fill them without spending a lot of time starting at the wall. It wouldn’t be a little part time goal- it would be a pretty major commitment. But it would force me to write every day and it would force me to write something substantial (and hopefully meaningful). The volume needed would prevent me from getting too precious about the details- at least until it was all down on paper. And if I was able to stick with it then I might even end up with a few things to show for it.

I’m going to give myself until the end of the month to think about it. If it is still stuck in my mind by then, then I’ll see if I can tackle it. I might need to modify the parameters a little bit- for instance making the goal to write ten pages each week day so that I have weekends free. And I’d have to decide what kind of writing counts: would these posts count? What about letters? What about cover letters? Poems? Single spaced pages or double? Does a screenplay page count the same as a prose page? And what about revisions and editing- if I write a ten page short story one day and do rewrites on it the next, does that count? And what if I write more than ten pages? Some days are really inspiring after all. Will those count against the inevitable days when I write fewer than ten pages?

And is writing really what I want to be putting my efforts into? My instincts are saying ‘yes’. Even if my true goal is to direct, I think that the opportunities to do so are going to come from projects that I myself am creating.

All this planning doesn’t really account for how my schedule will change when I find a job, so maybe the point will be moot- it would be nice to be so busy with paying work that ten pages on a week day is impossible, but until that happens this feels like a good way to keep myself focused.

We’ll see how I feel about it at the end of the month.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 17, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
