In A Spin


Fall, damnit! It's not natural!

Fall, damnit! It’s not natural!

By the time that I got up this morning I could already feel myself beginning to “spin up”, which is the best way that I can describe the feeling of having too much unfocused energy built up inside.

I’d spent most of the night laying out a plan for a security app for cell phones that used a fingerprint scanner as a security measure to protect personal information in case the phone got stolen. Instead of having a code that you punch into a phone in order to access the home screen, you would just swipe your finger. If the phone recognized the fingerprint, it would open an account where all your personal information was saved. If it didn’t recognize your fingerprint it would still let you access the homepage, but this time requiring you to login to any applications that you wanted to open.

I thought “Surely I can’t be the first person to have thought of this.” And I wasn’t. Later today I saw an ad for the iPhone featuring a fingerprint security system that is a close cousin to my dream concept, if not the very same thing.

So I’m glad that it exists. Wish that it existed for android.

The first thing that I did was go running. I always forget how much more work it is to run in the morning than to run in the evening. It’s physically harder for me. But considering that I had so much extra energy to burn off I thought it was worth the effort and even forced myself to do an extra mile. So the day got off to a productive start. After my run I came home, cleaned up, and took the van to get the oil changed and tires rotated and to run a few other errands as well.

Then I got home and everything seemed to stagnate. I sat down to work, but ran into technical problems. About halfway through the day I ran out of steam and had to lie down for twenty minutes, reduced to fifteen thanks to the cat. Then I went back to work but didn’t seem to come away with much progress. The more I thought about it, the more frustrated I got and the less work I managed to get done. Everywhere there seemed to be piles. Piles of paperwork. Piles of junk. Piles of cans for recycling. Piles of clothes. I finally had to give up and just organize for a while.

The clutter has been reduced to a dull roar for the time being. I’ll need to put in some more work on it tomorrow. I hope that I’ve burned off enough energy to be able to sleep tonight. I’d rather not spend the night dreaming about inventions that already exist.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 18, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
