Un-Comforter-Able


Oh, hello- did I hear you were looking for help?

Oh, hello- did I hear you were looking for help?

Well, it is officially the end of my first week in the real world. This time last week we were relaxing after and afternoon of celebrating. This time this week I’m relaxing after a long week of getting myself re-oriented. I finally started making some headway as of yesterday.

I finally started applying for jobs, for instance. I’m making an effort to apply to two or three each day until I start getting some response. I’m expecting this to take a while: all the job listings that I am looking at are just posted on studio’s websites, so I’m sure that my resume is one digital snowflake in an avalanche of cold-candidates. The way I see it, I probably have two chances at getting any of these jobs: fat and slim, but two chances are better than none- which is what I would have if I didn’t apply at all.

I’m also beginning to realize that there are a lot of jobs out there that are not and simply never will be listed. There is plenty of work to be had, but I expect that most of it is going to be doled out by word-of-mouth references rather than an online posting. “Hey, we need a P.A. for this shoot- who do you know that is good?” and the like. So my plan is to keep asking around until someone needs help. It’ll happen sooner or later, and I have plenty of other projects to keep me busy in the meantime.

Today’s project (aside from sound design, etc, which is a project every day) was to clean the comforter. One or both of the cats barfed on it a year (and a half?) ago. At the time I spot cleaned it, but decided that it really needed an over-all washing before I could put it back on the bed. So I put it in the hamper. And it has been there ever since.

The problem is the washers. The ones in the laundry rooms here in the apartment complex are not big enough to properly wash a queen size duvet. And since there are laundry facilities in the complex (no matter how much I complain about them) it means that I have never had the excuse to frequent any of the local laundromats to know which (if any) have oversized washer/dryers. Then, of course, there is the question of finding a day in which I have two hours to babysit a load of laundry at a public laundromat. The last time I went to a laundromat was over four years ago in Glendale Heights and the shrieks of the half-dozen feral children running rampant between the rows of washers still haunts my memories. As an eternal optimist, I decided to give the local washers one more go. The comforter was still too big. I’m just going to have to suck it up and go to the laundromat.

But maybe I’ll wait until Monday. When the kids are in school.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 20, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
