Distracted


I’m trying to think of something to write, but it is hard to concentrate. The television is on and The Celebrity Name Game is blaring in my ear which is very distracting. But I’m determined to write something and I have a deadline: I need to get out the door in about ten minutes to go for a run because if I wait much longer than that then I won’t be able to get a run in before going out for the evening to the movie theatre.

It’s been ages since I’ve gone to the movie theatre- the last movie that we saw in theatres was “Deadpool” so I guess that means it was February. My first impulse upon deciding to go to the movies was to feel guilty: I’m so used to not having time to go to the movies. I felt certain that there must be something that I should be doing instead. But there isn’t. At least, there isn’t anything so urgent that I can’t go out for a movie this evening.

Except trying to write this, of course.

I had all these vague plans for the day of things that I was hoping to get done: a little bit of sound editing, a little bit of organizing, maybe some cleaning around the house. Instead, I slept in, made cake, and watched old episodes of The X-Files on Netflix. I did apply to a few jobs, so the day hasn’t been a complete loss, and going for a run will help me feel like I’ve accomplished something, but mostly it has been a day of generalized leisure. Not much to talk about, though.

The problem that I run into with days of leisure, is that I do have a lot of things that I need to get done. Not all of it is urgent, but it is all hanging over my head and some of it has been hanging over my head for quite a long time so taking time to relax sometimes gives me too much time to think about all the things that I’m trying not to think about… if that makes any sense.

Anyway, that’s enough deliberating for today. My timer just went off and I need to get out the door. Running calls.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 21, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
