Coffee Sunday


Definitely somewhere in the "Yikes" category.

Definitely somewhere in the “Yikes” category.

It is early afternoon, but already I’ve had too much caffeine and I am beginning to feel the jitters. The perils of scheduling more than one meeting in the same day, I suppose. I’ve already stepped down my game from coffee to green tea, but it is hard to not want to jump up and do a few laps around the room while I wait for my next meeting to begin. I’m sure this establishment would frown on it. They don’t actually have “no running” as a posted rule yet, but I’m sure it is just a matter of time.

Speaking of running, I learned that there is a big difference between running three miles and running/walking three miles. Typically I run for a few minutes (usually until the end of a song on my ipod) then walk for a hundred yards, then run again. Yesterday I decided to just see if I could run my whole normal route without stopping. It turns out that I can, but it also turns out that I’m not in a great of shape as I’d like to think. I didn’t stop to walk at all, but there were a few times when a convenient red light gave me enough time to catch some much needed breath. I was proud of myself for making the effort- but I’m beginning to think that I might need to make the effort more often.

It was hard work! By the time I reached the end of my route I felt like I’d gone a lot farther and worked a lot harder than I normally do.  I’m trying to get into a better workout habit (all my recent celebrating has caught up with me), but it is taking some getting used to. For most of the spring I’ve only manged to go running once or twice a week and now I’m trying to get into a habit of two days on, one day off. If nothing else, it gives me something to anchor my day around until I find a job and get into a new working routine.

Well, I guess that is my update for the day. More to come.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 22, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
