Those Days


This would be so much easier with ARMS

This would be so much easier with ARMS

It was one of those days in which everything seemed to take a lot of time. Which is frustrating on any day, but especially on a Monday.

I had high hopes for getting the week off to a productive start: this week will mostly be dedicated to the final sound mix for the sound design that has been occupying my attention for the past few weeks and today was my chance to squeeze in a few non-sound-related tasks before diving into the mix room.

And the day certainly started early enough: when I popped awake at four thirty in the morning with my mind running at full speed and no way of shutting it down. It wasn’t the sound design that had me in a spin-up, it was the next  project that I will be needing to pick up once this project is finished. Namely, the film that I produced last summer that still needs to be flogged through post-production sound and visual effects before I can close the books on it. It is one of those projects that hangs over my head like a sword of Damocles. It stresses me out just to think about it: I was in such a state of elevated anxiety during the production that I’m constantly afraid that thinking about it will set it off again. The fact that it still isn’t complete and we are going into a second summer of work is the thought that I’ve been trying not to think for the past few weeks. It finally caught up with me.

So, that was the start of my day. The first thing I did, was go for a run. It almost always helps level my mood. It was a hard run, though, and it took me a frustratingly long time just to make it around my route: nearly a full hour. I went straight to the shower and ate breakfast and then gathered all the laundry in the house for an expedition to the laundromat: if I was going to go to wash a comforter, I decided that I might as well go and wash everything. This took two hours, give or take.

I’d planned to go to campus in the morning to put in some more work on the sound design and make a backup of the pre-dub that was prepared on Friday (a partial mix in preparation for a final mix). By the time I got home from doing the laundry it was lunch time. I let myself lie down for fifteen minutes (ten, thanks to the cats) and then decided that I just wasn’t going to be able to make it all the way to campus and do anything useful before having to leave for a meeting in Glendale at three. It made more sense to stay home and work instead and to apply for jobs.

Well, I applied to one job, anyway, instead of two. That seems to be par for the course for the day.

My meeting at three, with an actress, went very well and lasted longer than I anticipated- but I could hardly mind since it meant that we hadn’t run out of conversation for the whole time. I drove home, met the Curmudgeonly Lion at the new Aldi grocery store that just went in to check out their stock, and then settled in for the evening.

So all in all, the day didn’t turn out too bad, for having such a frustrating start. Hopefully tomorrow will be a little bit more streamlined.

 

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 23, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
