Excavation


funny-pilingsystem

It was time to excavate the studio.

It’s a task that I’ve been putting off since January- mostly because I was just too busy, but I finally reached the point where I wanted to be able to work at my desk and/or drawing board without being up to my elbows in paperwork so it was time to tackle the chaos. I succeeded in fighting back the worst of the clutter, but I haven’t yet had a chance to do any deep sorting. We hope to move to a new apartment in a month or two, so with this in the back of my mind I find myself feeling the impulse to get down into the nitty gritty and to do a purge of anything that isn’t necessary. It feels like an appropriate time to close the book on the grad-school chapter of my life, which means condensing it down into a single box of mementos (as much as it is possible to do so), and putting it into storage.

I’m also discovering an urge to just generally shed stuff that I don’t need or never use. The second block of kitchen knives, for instance. Or the tea kettle that I picked up because I like the color but have never used. Or the box of bottle caps- what was my plan with a box of bottle caps? I haven’t quite made it to the point where I’ve begun gathering things for Goodwill or Craigslist, but I can tell the time is coming.

Tomorrow will be the last day of May. I’m setting some new goals for myself for the summer now that I’ve had a little bit of time to get my bearings outside of academia and, with luck, will be able to start off with some good momentum. The first part of June promises to be a fun and busy time and although I don’t know what comes after that, I’m sure it will fill up fast. If I can just stay focused on what is right in front of me then I won’t get too overwhelmed with the long-term goals.

At least, this was what I told myself as I struggled through one of the most difficult runs I’ve had in a long time. Having a third day of the weekend seemed like a prime opportunity for running to my brain, but my body begged to differ. I felt like I was barely moving and it never got any easier. When I weighed myself upon getting home I discovered that I’d put on three pounds. Since yesterday. It is likely that it’s just water weight, but still come on! I suppose that I shouldn’t worry too much: I weighed this much on Memorial Day last year too and it scared me so much that I ended up losing weight and keeping it off for almost six months. So there’s still hope- I’m just going to need to make some lifestyle changes again.

Anyway, I may not be ready for a bikini, but I’m ready for the summer.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on May 30, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
