New Routine… A Noutine?


I didn’t emerge from the apartment until nearly sundown when I went out for my run.

It seemed like it had been a pleasantly laid-back day of staying in, but I needed to get out and get some fresh air and sunlight. I’ve been trying to run more often, but my habits have been a bit irregular- a few days here, a few days there, sometimes in the morning, sometimes in the evening, etc.

Post-graduate life is very disorienting. At first, my routine was not too much changed: I was working on a sound design so I was still going to campus regularly and working on specific projects with specific deadlines. The more nebulous parts of life like job hunting, apartment hunting, and general re-definition of my life, identity, routine, and everything was easy to dip in and out of like a kid splashing in the shallows along a beach.

Now I’m starting to get into some deeper water, which involves asking myself questions like: who am I ? What am I doing? Where am I going? What do I put on my business cards? So I find myself clinging to the familiar: running, routine, setting meetings, and trying to force myself to write now and then (except for these posts, I didn’t write all weekend).

And as much as I wring my hands over all this unstructured time, I dread the day when I will have to give it up: on the one hand, I can’t find a job soon enough, and on the other hand, I don’t look forward to letting go of all of my free time. Temping is looking more and more appealing, if I can get it. A few months here, a few months there- getting to know people, getting to build experience, knowing that it doesn’t have to be forever…

Well, the right thing will come along when the time is right. No need to dwell on it. In the meantime, I am trying to use the time wisely to wrap up as many other, outstanding projects as possible. So for this week, my goal is going to be:

  1. Run in the morning.
  2. Take care of one task around the house.
  3. Make progress on one outstanding film project.
  4. Get out of the house for one meeting or social event.
  5. Write something.

Every day. For one week. No sleeping in, no napping, no staying up late. Surely I can handle that for five days. We’ll see if I can make it happen.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 5, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
