Late Night


As a kid, I thought that air quotes were the hand-sign for "Wise guys" because that's what my teacher always used them for. In retrospect, I'm not sure why "wiseguys" needed air quotes...

On an unrelated note: As a kid, I thought that air quotes were the hand-sign for “wise guys” because that’s what my teacher always used them for.

So I had this goal for the week that I was going to get up early every day and not taking naps and not staying up too late. But you know what they say: man plans and god laughs.

It’s a Tuesday: the second day of my goal. I’m helping out at a New Media Festival at the registration table. The last screening is scheduled to go until eleven thirty. This is already later than my normal bedtime, but I figure that I’ve made the commitment to be there and it counts as a Valid Excuse for staying up late (as compared to surfing the internet or watching Netflix). By eleven forty, the screening is still going on and there is a Q&A that still has to happen afterwards. I sit at the registration table and watch the custodian polish the floors around me. I’m on strict instructions Not To Leave The Table Unattended since that is where all the badges are kept, and as long as the screening is still running I’m supposed to keep registration open for any latecomers. So I wait.

It was after midnight before I was on my way home. I didn’t have a chance to write a post for the day except for a brief note to let everybody know that I was still alive (it’s on the internet- it must be true). After staying up that late, I found myself going back to bed in the morning to catch up on some sleep- not sure if that counts as “sleeping in” or “napping” but it definitely defeats one or more of my goals. But I’d rather be well rested- I’ll be going back again today to help some more, so I’m learning from yesterday’s mistake and getting my writing done early. Luckily, I don’t have to be there until later in the afternoon (instead of noon, like yesterday) which gives me a chance to recuperate a bit.

Tired or not, at least I’m getting out of the house. Things may run late again tonight, but at least this time I will be prepared. It’s a learning process!

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 8, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
