Today and Tomorrow


Oh yes, I'm very detale oriented.

Oh yes, I’m very detale oriented.

I have to keep this short.

Tomorrow is a big day: I have two back-to-back job interviews and the first one is at nine in the morning. I can’t afford to be late- both because it is unprofessional and because I can’t afford to have it run overtime and make me late for the second interview. I have about an hour of buffer time between the two. If I’m lucky that should be plenty of time.

I’ve been giving a lot of thought to how I should reverse-engineer my morning in order to make it there on time. Making it to West Hollywood by nine in the morning could take between one and two hours. The very latest that I could afford to leave would be seven- and that leaves me no time for parking. Ugh. Well, you gotta get up early if you want to make it to the top. I’ve printed my resumes and dug out my legal paperwork and gassed up the van. It’s getting late, but maybe I’ll go ahead and prep the coffeemaker and stage some of the easier parts of lunch so that I can grab-and-go in the morning. Easier to do it now than at the crack of dawn.

I want to be cautiously optimistic. Interviews feel like progress. It’s difficult to know if either of these opportunities will amount to gainful employment and, if so, how quickly it will begin, but it feels like a step forward from just submitting applications. I will need to make an effort to avoid getting complacent.

Today was another day spent looking for housing. We found another lovely house in a nice, quiet neighborhood, but every application is going to cost us seventy dollars in credit-check fees, which makes it really difficult to want to apply for more than one option. Trying to choose between The One We Liked Today and The One We Liked Yesterday is like trying to choose between apples and oranges. I’m still not sure that we’ve made a decision. Maybe the fact that we were unable to choose is our decision. We might regret hesitating, but then again, we might find something even better if we just keep looking. Who knows.

Ok that’s all for tonight. I’m off to prep coffee, lunches, and then bed.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 12, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
