Cat Trapped


Or I could do this. Or this. Or this.

Or I could do this. Or this. Or this. Or this. Or this. Or this. Or this.

I’m sitting at the kitchen table, working on my computer and I can’t get up: I have a cat on my lap. I’m cat trapped. I joke that he is sitting there to keep me warm: as if I need the help. It is gearing up to be another scorcher of a day so we have all the windows closed, the blinds drawn, and the air conditioner running to try to cool the place down before the energy saving hours begin. So I’m trying to think of all the things that I need to do today that require sitting quietly working at my computer. So far, I’ve caught up on emails and applied to a few new jobs, so that is a good start.

Unlike the past few weeks, my schedule is clear this week… so far, anyway. I never thought that I would find an open schedule so intimidating, but I’m struggling to keep moving. It’s like being in the middle of open water and not knowing which way to swim to get to shore. At times like these I occasionally choke up and struggle to get anything done. So it is probably good that I have a cat pinning me down and preventing me from spinning my wheels. Progress may be slow, but at least I’m getting a few things crossed off of my list.

I have a stack of books to return to the library. I checked out four. I started to read three of them. I renewed them once. I haven’t finished a single one. This, too, is frustrating: I love reading! Why can’t I finish a single book? The renewal period runs out tomorrow so I’m going to have to go ahead and return them. Maybe I’ll check out some different books and have better luck.

Once the cat gets up, and once the power-saving hours begin, I hope to head to campus to do some sound editing on one of my leftover projects from the past semester. I’d love to finish it before the end of June although without a hard deadline I keep procrastinating on it. It will get me out of the house and force me to focus on one project for a few hours (instead of flitting from task to task around the house). And there’s air conditioning.

So progress is slow, but I’m grinding my way forward.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 20, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
