New Direction


I think I can, I think I can, I think I can

I think I can, I think I can, I think I can

The day began cloudy and cool. After the recent heat, I was eager to get out the door right away to take advantage of the overcast weather for a run.  It had been a rough night of tossing and turning and blaringly loud ear-worm songs stuck in my head on endless loop, so it was tempting to go back to bed, but I didn’t know how long the clouds would last, so I was motivated to get an early start on the day.

It wasn’t the world’s easiest run. Somehow, in spite of running three miles five times a week, I actually seem to be gaining weight. It felt like I was somehow wearing another pair of legs on top of my normal legs, as if I’d decided to put them on like an extra layer of socks. My calves felt like they were sloshing around my ankles the whole way. But no matter: I got out the door and got the day off to a productive start.

I was pleased to keep the momentum up for the rest of the day- at least until the Curmudgeonly Lion came home and I sat on the couch to read one of my new library books and nodded off for a short, upright nap in the early evening. Other than that, I managed to make good progress: did some editing on a draft of a script, made some phone calls, repaired the missing louvers in the blinds- a small but niggling task that has been bothering me for months, but was too small to prioritize during school. I’ve made good headway on taking care of a lot of these small housekeeping tasks lately. It feels strangely like I might be getting my house in order. Just in time to move.

Over all, it has been an excellent week for Making Progress On Things. I haven’t finished anything big, but I’ve gotten a lot closer in the past few days. Maybe I’m moving past my recent “stasis” phase and started moving in the new direction. I’m sure there will still be limbo, considering that there are still big, unanswered questions in my life like Finding A Job and Finding A Home, but I might as well cross off the little things while I wait.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 22, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
