Four Thirty


image

This picture has nothing to do with this post. I just took it because I liked the texture that the dirty window gave it.

It’s four thirty in the morning and I’ve been lying awake for half an hour already, unable to sleep. The room is both too hot and too cold and is clammy and damp with humidity and the faucet in the bathroom is dripping nearly non stop. I made it through most of the night, but now here I am.

We looked at more houses to rent yesterday. We found one that seemed to have everything that we wanted, but the more I push to apply for it the more lukewarm the Curmudgeonly Lion seems to get about it. This has happened a couple of times now- we’ll find a place and I’ll start getting excited about it thinking we’ve finally found The One and then I’ll find myself working really hard to “sell” it, even though it has all the things on our impossible list of criteria. So there’s pretty much now way that we’re going to be able to move by the beginning of July. And I get to look forward to more weekends of traipsing around town looking at houses.

In other news, I got my first call about a temp job. The call came in at about 7:30 in the morning and I didn’t respond until 8:30 by which time they had found someone else, so I guess I need to be Johnny-on-the-Spot with early morning phone calls from now on, but it’s nice to know that I’m actually on the call list. That feels like progress.

Now it’s the weekend and I’m speeding it with my sister Filbert, who is in town with her band. A clown band. It seemed like a good excuse to break away from the normal routine ( which I’m starting to settle into, I think) and see family and get a change of scenery. So maybe that has something to do with why I’m unable to sleep- all this change from my routine. I just hope that it doesn’t mean I’m going to be crabby all day.

Anyway, maybe I’ll be able to sleep now that I’ve surfed the internet for a while. Ha! Said no one ever.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 25, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
