Laundromeeting


Take another step. Go on...

Take another step. Go on…

I had a meeting today in a laundromat.

I wish that I could say that this was the first time that I’ve ever had a meeting in a laundromat, but it’s not. It’s the second; not counting that one time when I showed up to what I thought was a Starbucks but turned out to be a Proudly Serving Starbucks coffee counter in a Silverlake laundromat and the person I was supposed to meet was a no show. That one wasn’t even a nice laundromat- you would think that a laundromat with a Starbucks in it would be pretty swish, but no: it was the same as every other laundromat, just with coffee.

The meeting wasn’t big news. If I wanted to make myself sound like a big shot I could have been all, like: “yes, I took a meeting with the screenwriter of a major Hollywood film.” Technically, I wouldn’t be lying- I did meet with a screenwriter who recently wrote a major Hollywood film, but only to return some DVDs that I’d borrowed from him over a year ago. It was still a good meeting, though: as a person of some recent success, I got to ask him what he did right after graduation. The answer boiled down to “got a day job unrelated to the industry to pay the bills until the Big Film came along.” So I left feeling hopeful.

Now that it’s the end of June, I’m beginning to feel the pressure of getting The Job more acutely. It has been a month and a half, and I’ve made progress, but I’m still sailing blindly into unknown waters. I’ve been doing a good job of keeping myself busy, at least- I don’t think I’ve ever been this good at crossing things off my To Do lists. I’m making progress on my remaining film projects, I’m applying every day, I’m taking care of things around the house. But still I wait. And waiting is hard.

Well, tomorrow is July and the start of new and better things. If I can just keep up this momentum, I’ll be fine. There’s always Uber.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on June 30, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
