Bookish


Those days when motivation strikes...

Those days when motivation strikes…

I met with my sister, Bean, today to talk about writing, although I was the one doing most of the talking. I’m not sure she got much of a word in edge-wise about the writing that she is currently working on. She’s currently in an editing stage, though, which is a little bit like a dress-fitting: everything is full of pins and nothing looks like it fits yet, so it’s not really a time for a lot of show and tell. I still feel guilty for hogging all of our visit with my projects.

On the other hand, though, I was pretty darn excited to share. Ssome of the writing that I did last month felt very off-the-wall, but wasn’t as bad as I thought it was. I decided to read it to her. It turns out that I’m a sucker for an audience: reading my work out loud can be excruciating, but can also be a huge boost to know whether things are making sense or getting a laugh. I came home newly inspired to write some more, and newly motivated by a one-week deadline to write it before we meet again next week. The deadline is probably the most important part.

I seem to be building up to a creative surge again: I started the day by finishing one of my library books (“Grit” by Angela Duckworth) and also finished re-reading a perennial favorite (“Catspaw” by Joan D. Vinge). After struggling to be able to finish ANYTHING for weeks, it feels good to finish two in one day… even if one of them was one that I’ve read a million times before. Maybe all this reading is helping my writing. We shall see.

I had another small but meaningful breakthrough on a different project, but I don’t have enough details in place yet to share it. I tell you, though, it works better than coffee for making you feel like getting to work!

So big things seem to be on their way. I’m doing my best to be prepared.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 5, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
