Listless


Very free form...

Very free form…

Without the Curmudgeonly Lion at home to anchor me, I have found myself drifting away from my normal routines for the past few days. It has been a nice change of pace, but I’m ready to have some structure back in my life. This evening, after my run, I found myself standing out in the back parking lot cooling down and realizing- as if it were some huge epiphany- that it was July. I was listening to the sounds of the neighborhood and thinking that it had a wintery quietness about it: a few spare bird songs, one lonely cricket, some distant airplanes… It sounded the same as it had sounded back in January when I first started really listening.

How could I have forgotten that it was July? We just had Independence Day and my birthday- surely one or both of those should have kept the season clear in my mind. But it seemed like it had been a long time since I’d thought about what month it was or noticed what season it was.

So I’m resolved to get back to my normal routine tomorrow- starting with making a To Do list tonight. Tomorrow is already shaping up to be a busy day: I have a job interview in the morning, which I’m very excited about, and several production related meetings later in the afternoon which will be a big step forward on one of the projects that I am trying to finish. And then in the evening the Curmudgeonly Lion comes home so things will hopefully begin returning to normal.

In spite of being disorienting, the past few days have been a nice change of pace: I finished reading “The Revenant” by Michael Punke, the novel upon which the movie is loosely based. I’ve only seen the opening scene of the film. I found it to be an easier read than I expected- I thought it might be dense with historical details, but it kept the pace moving along nicely. I’m on to a book called “Ink and Bone” now, which I’ll need to be diligent about finishing since it is due back at the library on Tuesday. I caught up on an entire season of Downton Abbey and finished the final season of Mad Men so I’m pretty well immersed in historical fictions of all kinds right now.

So that is all for tonight- it is getting late and I need to be getting to bed for tomorrow’s adventures.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 10, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
