Flump


tJ8n6UL

Well if yesterday was a flurry of exciting news, today was a flump back into the waiting game. I may or may not have just made up the word “flump”. I suppose that is one way to add to one’s vocabulary. Earlier in the day I took an online Test-Your-Vocabulary quiz. According to Facebook, many of my friends were scoring over 30000 (although 30000 of what I’m not sure) but I only came in at a 26000 or so: which, I was assured, was consistent with the vocabulary of a thirty-something professional.

And here I always thought I had a pretty good vocabulary.

Well, if you don’t know the answers then make them up. Flump. It’s now a word. It describes the sudden, but gentle loss of momentum: the feeling of sledding downhill at top speed one moment and then sinking into a snowdrift the next. Flump. Or the feeling of free-falling through the air and suddenly having a parachute deploy. Flump.

After all the job interviews and rental applications I rather expected today to be a day full of exciting news. The rental application fizzled: denied on account if insufficient income and an unwillingness on our part to flood our entire life savings into paying the year’s rent in advance. I really liked the house, but it seemed too good to be true and each step that we got closer to renting it seemed to have more and more red flags. Entire year’s rent up front? Iffy. First month’s rent in the form of a cashier’s check as a “holding deposit”? Iffier. Refusal to submit the application to the owner until the holding deposit was received? Iffiest. At the same time, these are the same people that we just gave ALL of our personal information to, so…

So we’re back at the starting point for finding a new place to live. I haven’t heard any news about either of the two jobs. On one hand, it means that I haven’t been told “no”, but there’s nothing else that I can do to get myself to “yes” except wait. And hope. And try not to drive everybody crazy with my compulsive productivity as I try to distract myself from dwelling on it.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 13, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
