Fortune Cookie Say


Point taken, cookie, point taken.

Point taken, cookie, point taken.

In an effort to shake myself out of a funk I decided to forgo my normal list of tasks and to focus on doing some deep organizing around the apartment. After yesterday’s discovery of the box of forgotten stationary I once again plumbed the depths of the studio closet and sorted through a box of accumulated mementos from the past four years. Among these were a surprising number of fortune cookie fortunes. I knew that I liked to hold on to a good fortune cookie fortune, but I didn’t realize that I’d collected so many:

You will win success in whatever calling you adopt.

Opportunity is knocking at your front door.

Keep on charging the enemy so long as there is life.

There is a prospect of a thrilling time ahead for you.

Many people are seeking you for your sound advice.

Love is a present that can be given every single day you live.

Put up with small annoyances to gain great results.

If you’re feeling down, try throwing yourself into your work.

If you can shape it in your mind, you will find it in your life.

If you are never scared, embarrassed or hurt it means you never take chances.

If you develop habits of success, you will make success a habit.

Good news will be brought to you by mail.

Never quit!

You will be unusually successful in business.

In the midst of a busy life, take some time to be a kid again.

Advice given to you will be well worth following.

Big things coming in future. Only matter of time. (sic)

It is quite a litany of good tidings and encouraging advice. I found myself wondering what it must be like to work at the printer that spits out the little paper fortunes. I imagine them coming off a vast roll like an endless ribbon of good fortune being judiciously snipped into cookie-sized portions by a woman who has to share her one eye with her two sisters. I like to imagine that these little paper slips are the seeds of fortune that only need time and cultivation in order to grow into the things that they promise. Maybe that’s why I keep one that reads: “A financial investment will yield returns beyond your wildest hopes” in my wallet. It’s nice for the pennies to have some company.

It was good to have a change of scenery for a while, but I think I’m ready to get back to my regularly scheduled routine. I have a fortune to cultivate.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 19, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
