Possessions: Pack and Purge


How many boxes of "Misc" is too many?

How many boxes of “Misc” is too many?

We aren’t moving yet. That is to say, we haven’t found the right place to move to yet, but I decided that it wasn’t too soon to start packing. It seemed unlikely that we would be entertaining using the good china any time soon, so that seemed like an obvious place to start: we still had all the boxes in storage and since everything was kept closed up in cupboards, we probably wouldn’t miss that they were gone.

And it got me out of the house. I needed to get out of the house.

Everywhere I turn I’m bombarded with the sheer number of possessions that we own. It’s a blessing to have so much stuff, but at the same time it feels a bit… intimidating. I feel like all these things are tied to my with tiny invisible strings that I can’t seem to shake off. Some things I look at with a sense of sentiment: things I’ve made like artwork (even if I never look at it anymore), things I’ve written, ideas I’ve scribbled down, old letters, or things can’t quite bear to part with just because I’ve had them for so long- old shoes, clothes that I don’t wear but that someone gave to me, knick knacks, newspaper clippings that came in the mail, etc. Other things I hold onto out of a sense of obligation: old checkbooks, paperwork for accounts that I don’t own anymore, reference materials, art materials, tools. There are the things that I hold onto thinking they will someday be useful: boxes of fabric, trays of fancy scrapbooking paper, art supplies, etc. And then there are the things that really ought to be trash but I just can’t seem to throw away: hard candy that I will never eat but that is perfectly good, a box of bottle caps, bags of plastic bags, old magazines and jar after jar of not-quite-dead-yet pens.

I’m making the effort to purge, but the more I try the harder it seems to become. I guess even this must be a process. For the time being, at least, there is no rush. So today I packed up the dishes. Tomorrow I’ll try to tackle something else.

~ by Gwydhar Gebien on July 20, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
